EXERCISE: Strength Flows From the Hands

22-feb-2009-two_fingers_pushup *Just as your body goes where your eyes go, strength flows from your hands. Make them stronger and gains in upper body strength will follow.

*Fingertip push-ups, are one way to start training for hand strength. If you have not done fingertip push-ups before, cup your hand, like you are about to grab a grapefruit, assume a basic push-up position, but consider spreading your feet/legs out a little wider for greater balance. Balance your weight evenly between your thumb and your fingers, because you do not want to strain your thumb. Now, do a push-up. I like to ladder up with these, that way, you can start off with a small number of reps. As you gain strength in your fingers, you can add reps. So, start by doing one rep, rest in the up position, then knock out two more reps, rest, and try for three. A reasonable goal is to train yourself to work up to a ladder set ending with 7 reps.

*Once you are comfortably working up to 7 reps, you may want to challenge yourself further. There are two variations that will greatly increase the difficulty of this exercise.

*The first variation is to curl the outer (pinky) fingers up into your palm, so that your weight is resting on your thumb and three fingers.  Comfortable on three fingers? Then, roll up your fourth (ring) fingers. Keep working on this and eventually, you will be doing two finger push-ups like Bruce Lee.

*The second variation is to adjust your finger position, so that the weight is not resting on the pads of the fingers, but is resting on the tips of your fingers.  Make claw hands with your fingers to get a good idea of how this is done.

*Then, check out this post on DIY Gym Equipment for an easy and inexpensive wrist roller, guaranteed to strengthen your forearms and help protect your wrists.

12 responses to “EXERCISE: Strength Flows From the Hands

  1. they’re hard =S

    • stoffainkorea

      Rohit:

      *You are right. At first, they are quite hard, but with practice comes progress. Stick with them and they will get easier, but not easy. Have fun! -Adam

  2. Hi there, You have done an excellent job. I’ll certainly digg it and personally recommend to my friends. I’m confident they’ll be benefited from this web site.

  3. Hello, after reading this awesome piece of writing i am also glad to share my know-how here
    with mates.

  4. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your site and
    in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact enjoyed account your blog posts.
    Any way I will be subscribing to your feeds and even
    I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

  5. I think this is one of the most important information for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on some general things, The site style is perfect, the articles is really great : D. Good job, cheers

  6. Its like you learn my thoughts! You seem to grasp so
    much approximately this, such as you wrote the ebook in it or something.
    I think that you can do with some percent to power the message
    house a little bit, however other than that, that is wonderful
    blog. A great read. I’ll definitely be back.

  7. Wonderful blog! I found it while searching on Yahoo News.

    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there! Appreciate it

  8. Greetings! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering which blog platform are you using for this
    website? I’m getting sick and tired of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers and I’m looking at options for another platform. I would be awesome if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  9. Hello there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my
    myspace group? There’s a lot of people that I think would really enjoy your content. Please let me know. Thanks

  10. Aw, this was an incredibly good post. Taking the time and actual effort
    to create a really good article… but what can I say… I procrastinate
    a lot and don’t seem to get anything done.

Leave a comment