Jamaican Carrot Juice – The Remix

photo by: HaoJan

Do you eat a wide variety of foods? After 6 weeks of tracking my food (just what I eat, not how much), I’ve discovered that I don’t. I am a very consistent (read as boring) eater. At breakfast, this lack of variety stems from an efficient routine that builds a meal in a limited amount of time. The problem: How to add a dash of variety to breakfast without upsetting the morning routine? Here is one way that I have succeeded in doing this.

healthy Jamaican carrot juice

Inspired by a recommendation to try traditional Jamaican carrot juice, I came up with my own breakfast recipe:

Ingredients:
1/2 can of coconut milk
1/4 tsp nutmeg
4 peeled and chopped carrots
1 cup frozen mango

Method:
Step 1 – In the order listed above, place ingredients in blender.
Step 2 – Start blender on lowest setting and cycle through to high.
Step 3 – Blend for 30s on high.
Step 4 – Pour, drink, enjoy!

I don’t strain out the carrot pulp.  Too much work.  I swapped coconut milk for the traditional sweet condensed milk and the frozen mangoes for the traditional brown sugar.  The mangoes make the drink sweet enough for me, but if you don’t have mangoes, substitute orange juice (you probably won’t need a whole cup – add a little at a time until you get the right consistency).

My next experiment…adding half a beet to this recipe for a healthy morning Madras.

more:
How to Mix a Madras
No Blend – Double Deuce Carrot Juice Recipe

6 responses to “Jamaican Carrot Juice – The Remix

  1. I love boring food. Keeps me from spending my entire day eating. Last few weeks:

    Breakfast: 7-14 bananas
    Dinner: 5-6 cups of white rice covered by 2-3lbs of steamed mixed veggies & spinach. Usually toss in 2-3 apples and/or 25 or so medjool dates.

    No salty stuff, no oils, garlic etc.. Nothing to pervert my taste buds. Keep it boring and keep me happy. Weeks before that, dinners were 2 quarts of lentils with pepper 🙂

    • Dude – you always make me feel better…you’re never boring. Can’t wait to find out what you pull out of the tropical forests of Hawaii.

  2. Carrot juice sounds good. I’m a fan of ‘carrot & orange’ soup, which has a slightly thicker consistency; roughly the same as baby food.

    • Carrot and orange soup sounds delicious. Traditional Korean pumpkin soup has that same consistency and I love it.

  3. I love carrot juice but, I never thought of adding coconut, mango and nutmeg. Sound good I will have give it a try. Thanks for the great idea.

Leave a Reply

