A Surprise Bonus And A Generous Gift

The Free Gift

I have 1 copy of The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman to give away.  This is the #1 New York Times best selling book by author Timothy Ferriss.

More Perfect

Kevin Kelly of Wired magazine calls this a cookbook of minimalist methods for rapid body transformation and most reviews have stuck with the cookbook analogy, since this is a 574 page book that covers over 50 topics.  Just as cookbooks make expert cooks more perfect, this book promises to help people that enjoy self-experiments find new ways to tweak: weight loss, get stronger, and improve their sex lives.

Perfectly Useless

Some of this stuff will be perfectly useless to me and tremendously helpful to others.  I’ve only cracked my copy of the book and I can tell you that I’m not interested in the Subtracting Fat chapter, but I am looking forward to the sections about Perfecting Sleep and Injury-Proofing the Body.  The Improving Sex section leads off with The 15-Minute Female Orgasm.  I mentioned this to my wife and she said, I can do that in 2-3 minutes.  So, we thought the 15 minutes must refer to duration…neither one of us is sure we want that.  Seriously, wouldn’t that zorch your brain?  Meanwhile, what am I supposed to do for those 15 minutes, go make a snack?  For a detailed conversation about the book, check out the discussion thread started by Dan John at Iron Online.

Who Am I to Complain

I got my copy of the book for free.  In the interest of full disclosure here’s how it happened.  A while back, I read and enjoyed Tim’s first book, The 4-hour Workweek.  I implemented many of the ideas described in the book and was able to improve my efficiency on the mundane stuff and focus more on creative work.

I continued to follow Tim’s blog and in one post, he asked for volunteers to help with research for his new book.  I signed up.  I may not know anything about 15 minute orgasms, but I am pretty good at tracking down reference material.

He didn’t take me up on the offer, but after the book was completed, I got a nice email message thanking me for my willingness to help and a promise to send me a copy of the book, when it was published.  Pretty cool, but there was a surprise bonus.  Instead of one free copy of the book, he sent me two free copies.

A Generous Gift And a Lesson in Negotiation

So, now I’ve got an extra copy of The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman to give away.

From a negotiator’s standpoint, this is a classic case of “expanding the pie”.  On the table is a deal that leaves me and Tim better off.  I get a free copy of his book and a second copy to give away.  When I give the second copy away, Tim gets valuable word of mouth marketing.  By having this conversation here with many people at once, I am expanding the pie further.

Expanding the Pie Part Deux

Well, let’s see if we can’t expand the pie just a little bit more.  I will mail my extra copy of the book and two TXP t-shirts to the third reader who emails me at adam.stoffa@gmail.com with Expanding the Pie in the subject line.  Now, these shirts are really cool and I can see why you would want to hang on to both of them, but I am hoping that you will give the second shirt away to someone that might enjoy the shirt and consider becoming a true fan of SEE.

Photo by: Scott Bird

UPDATE 1: After actually reading The 15-Minute Female Orgasm chapter, the project described is a bit more practical than the title suggests.  This section lays out a 15 minute routine that is an exercise in focused repetition that should be a fun and relaxing time for you and your partner.

UPDATE 2: We have a winner!  I’ll be mailing Brad Corcoran 1 copy of The 4-Hour Body: An Uncommon Guide to Rapid Fat-Loss, Incredible Sex, and Becoming Superhuman and two TXP t-shirtsYou should check out Brad’s blog Developing the Complete Athlete for tips and information about everything to do with performing at the best of your abilities.  You should also follow Brad on twitter and friend him on facebook.  Thanks to everyone for reading and helping to expand the pie.

Leave a Reply

