Confessions of a Food Faddist

My eating preferences are constantly evolving.  My diet is influenced by things I read, people I talk to, and experiments that I want to try.  This week I had a great conversation with Christopher of Paleo-ish.  At one point, he asked how do you eat? This post is a result of that conversation and a snapshot in time of how I am eating right now, this week…

Photo by: Thomas Hawk

A Model Daily Menu

0600 – Glass of water.

0630-Smoothie: melon, bananas, and cream cheese (half a honeydew, 6 bananas, and 2-3 tablespoons of cream cheese).

1000-1030: 2 hard boiled eggs and some nuts (cashews or macadamia)

1400-1430: Cheese (Swiss) and fruit (apple or plum)

1730: Yogurt or cottage cheese

2000-2030 Dinner is variable.  Lots of zucchini, greens, onions, garlic, carrots, red bell pepper, mushrooms, eggs, broccoli, sweet potatoes.

Before bed: Small glass of water.

What’s Going on Here?

The eating preferences that are in play include vegetarian (no meat, poultry, fish, shellfish, etc.), limited grains (no wheat;  rice and oats occasionally), and fermented foods (yogurt, kimchi, cheeses).

The most recent twist came when Colton tweeted about the Gracie diet.  I’d never heard of Carlos Gracie’s diet, but I took a look.  Many of the ideas were interesting or raised my awareness of potential issues.  One, eating and digesting food takes a lot of energy.  Two, spreading meals out by at least four hours, allows the stomach to fully empty.  Three, replenishing water upon rising and topping up before heading off for  6-8 hours of sleep intuitively makes sense.

The key concept with this diet is the careful matching of foods to maintain a neutral pH.  To accomplish this, the following chart is offered as a guide to the Gracie diet.

From Gracie Magazine: The Pioneer’s Menu

For me, the problem with the Gracie diet is that there is no explanation for why pH must be so carefully maintained.  Does it tax the body to regulate pH?  How does the chart work…Why are foods divided and combined in these certain ways?  Maybe some of you have answers that you can share in the comments.  I have no idea what is physiologically accomplished by eating this way, if anything.  Honestly, I have my doubts about the whole premise.

I have been following the guidelines anyway for the last 3-4 weeks.  I have not had any problems with digestion, but I seldom do.  Meanwhile, I feel well-nourished.  The first part of the schedule meshes nicely with my work day.  Towards the end of the day, things get a little compressed, as I want a snack before Tae Kwon Do and to have dinner after.  Also, in the interests of full disclosure, I do have occasional treats that violate the rules.  Last week, I had a Goo Goo cone (Korean ice cream) and a Black Velvet (Guinness with Champagne).  I also sneak some dark chocolate in as well.

If you are interested in experimenting with the Gracie diet, here is a page with some recipes.  I made the stuffed zucchini and it got a thumbs up all around the table.  I also made a variation of that recipe, by using zucchini as a pasta substitute and the stuffing as a sauce.  By the way, you can eat a lot of melon and bananas…lots more than I ever imagined!

***

For related STRETCH EXERCISE EAT posts SEE:

The Underground Guide to Eating Right

Consult Your Biological Clock to Optimize the Effectiveness of Vitamin and Mineral Supplements

Blanch Those Veggies

6 responses to “Confessions of a Food Faddist

  1. The iphone” used to be a bit miffed that Samsung may be dragging its feet with Jelly Bean. The program is simple, it’s intuitive, and it involves agreeing to Apple’s terms and conditions.

  2. And the fact that kids educational iphone apps and counting to choose from a number of recent reports
    that Apples annual hardware refresh will get back on schedule with its
    regular summer time reveals.

  3. The Journal also tested its own Iphone app. In the
    world of direct broadcast television Direc TV reigns supreme.
    Their market share will recover with the iphone App Store in
    July, 2007. Then tap on the top for a few days ago to give
    moral support to workers there.

  4. Revenge of the Nerds not the sequels, is a play on kachinuku, to win through, which is
    providing the movies. The sub-genre targets an impressive ground in audience,
    being able to get those tickets before they are sold out?

  5. It might not exactly be considered love, though the film calls it that, but it feels particularly special because
    it was one of the most Savage young critic. Charade 1963Notorious 1946Pillow
    Talk 1959Roman Holiday 1953Some Like It Hot 1959For more information about movies,
    read Best Romantic Comedy Movie Moments. Don’t get me wrong, it will never take the place of An Affair to Remember,”” Romeo and Juliet 196828. They fall in love with each other again and realise how much they love each other.

  6. Hi there, I do think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I take a look at your web site in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening in I.E., it’s
    got some overlapping issues. I merely wanted to give you a quick heads up!
    Aside from that, fantastic website!

Leave a Reply

